Special Services » Special Education Eligibility

Special Education Eligibility


Federal and state regulations have been established to identify and provide services for students with exceptionalities. At Fort Leavenworth, a variety of methods are used to gather information to determine whether or not a student has one or more of the 13 exceptionalities (see list below) and needs special education and related services to access and progress in the general education curriculum.

In Kansas, students must meet two criteria to be eligible for special education services:
  1. The student must have an exceptionality and
  2. Data obtained through general education interventions and an evaluation indicate the student needs specially designed instruction to access and benefit from the general education curriculum.
A child with an exceptionality means a child who has been evaluated and identified as having one or more of the following:
  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Developmental Delay
  • Giftedness
  • Hearing Impairment, including Deafness
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairments
  • Serious Emotional Disturbance
  • Specific Learning Disabilities
  • Speech or Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment, including Blindness
If it is determined through a school evaluation that a child has one or more exceptionalities, but only needs a related service, consultation, or accommodations, the child is not eligible for special education services.